University of Oregon

Historic Preservation Program


The Ninth Annual George McMath Historic Preservation Award Guidelines

Nominations for the 2017 George McMath Historic Preservation Award are open. Please review the criteria below and the award brochure for details on how to submit your nomination to prepare your recommendations for future honorees. Nominations are usually due in the fall with selections announced at the start of winter term. You may also use our online form to submit your nomination. Additional materials and letters of recommendation may be mailed to Historic Preservation Program, 70 NW Couch Street Floor 4r, Portland, OR 97209. For questions or to e-mail materials, please contact Historic Preservation Instructor, Chris Bell, at

Each year, this award will celebrate a leader in the field who has made significant contributions to historic preservation in the state of Oregon.

The purpose of these awards is to:

  • To honor and celebrate the legacy of George McMath
  • Raise awareness of historic preservation in Oregon
  • Recognize significant leaders in the field
  • Promote excellence in preservation practice
  • Recognize individual and group preservation contributions to the state’s historic landscape
  • Build partnerships between the professional and academic communities to enhance the field of preservation

McMath Award Recipients

  1. 2016 Sally Donovan
    2015 Leo Dean Williams
    2014 Donald Peting
    2013 William J. Hawkins III, FAIA
    2012 Hal S. Ayotte
    2011 Elisabeth Walton Potter
    2010 Cathy Galbraith
    2009 James Hamrick

The University of Oregon invites you to participate by making your nomination by Monday, November 14, 2016.

This award honors the achievements of a leader or entity that has excelled in the field of historic preservation. This individual or group has demonstrated most or all of the following achievements in the state of Oregon.


  1. Has demonstrated distinguished merit in the field of historic preservation as evidenced by research, documentation, or practice in preservation
  2. Has approached historic preservation as a method of urban revitalization that renews diverse, older neighborhoods
  3. Has met the unique needs of a community through the rehabilitation and active use of significant buildings, open spaces, or landmarks, and urban areas, while being sensitive to both historic and evolving urban conditions
  4. Has raised public awareness of historic preservation through practice, advocacy, or public policy
  5. Has shown the highest caliber of preservation work throughout his, her, or their career
  6. Has made a demonstrable impact on the cultural and historical landscape of Oregon


  • Nominees must be individuals, organizations, companies, or agencies involved in historic preservation.
  • Preference may be given to those who have recognized heritage value within the community, city, or state levels.
  • Self-nominations will be accepted.

Judgment Categories

  • Innovation
  • Impact
  • Quality
  • Standards of preservation practice

Recipients will be publicly honored at a ceremony each May and will be acknowledged in a university publication and website.

A jury of educators and professionals will consider each nomination for outstanding contributions made in the state of Oregon.