University of Oregon

Historic Preservation Program


Studio considers Chávez monument

In 1965, a young labor organizer catalyzed what soon became an international movement to unionize farm workers seeking better wages and improved working and living conditions. Over the next thirty years, he would organize thousands of workers and lead millions of consumers nationwide to boycott purchases of grapes, lettuce, and wine, eventually changing agricultural practices in America.

Information Session: Croatia Conservation Summer Field School--Friday, 11/15/13 from 12-1pm in LA 279

Are you interested in learning more about the Historic Preservation Program's Croatia Conservation Summer Field School?  Well Friday, November 15, from 12-1pm in Lawrence Hall Room 279 is your chance!  Now in its sixth year, the Croatia Conservation Field School offers interdisciplinary hands-on training in cultural heritage, field recordation, documentation, local sustainable practices, and local construction methods.    

Randy Gragg to lead Yeon Center

The University of Oregon has hired Portland writer, editor, and organizer Randy Gragg to lead the John Yeon Center. Gragg is best known as a writer on art, architecture, and urban issues for The Oregonian, from 1989 to 2007, and for his role as editor in chief of Portland Monthly, where he will continue as editor at large. The John Yeon Center is an educational and research program of the UO School of Architecture and Allied Arts.

Nominations open for McMath Award

Applications will be accepted through Friday, November 15, to nominate an individual for the George McMath Historic Preservation Award, given annually by the University of Oregon.

Historic Preservation Graduate Students honored with AAA Dean's Fellowship

Two Historic Preservation graduate students have been recognized for their excellence in research and were recently selected as recipients of the AAA Dean’s Graduate Fellowship for the 2012-2013 academic year.  John Peregrine Hill was awarded a $5,000 scholarship for his Terminal Project titled All Along the Watchtower:  Identifying Trends in Historic Fire Lookout Preservation Through Selected Case Studies and a Statistical Analysis.  Committee: Rick Minor, Ph.D, Chris Ruiz M.S., and Kirk Ranzetta, Ph.D..