University of Oregon

Historic Preservation Program


New A&AA dean thinks globally, shares locally

For Christoph Lindner, the new dean of the School of Architecture and Allied Arts, "university life-research, education, teaching-connects to everything." Lindner shares his enthusiasm about making those connections at the University of Oregon and A&AA's growing global reach. He brings his own far-reaching global experience to the table as well, having most recently come from Amsterdam. Read more at AroundtheO

Christoph Lindner

Three UO architecture alumni, one instructor earn prestigious ‘Fellow’ distinction from national organization

Three alumni from the UO Department of Architecture and one adjunct faculty member have earned the highest professional honor granted by the prestigious American Institute of Architects (AIA). Amy Miller Dowell, William Murray, Jay Raskin, and Ron van der Veen were elevated to the College of Fellows in the AIA during an investiture ceremony at the organization’s national convention in May.

Amy Miller Dowell, Ron van der Veen, Jay Raskin, and William Murray

McMath Award recognizes Sally Donovan for exemplary cultural resources work, HABS/HAER photography

Longtime Oregon-based cultural resource specialist and photographer Sally Donovan will be formally honored May 11 with the 2016 George McMath Historic Preservation Award at a luncheon at the UO in Portland.

Sally Donovan

Historic benches find new life at A&AA

A Historic Preservation Program graduate student with a construction background has restored four benches given to UO by the Class of 1923. The project repurposed wood salvaged after a campus cedar tree died and was removed. Three of the four benches now grace the Lawrence Hall courtyard, overlooking a new garden.

completed benches

Preservation program moving north

The University of Oregon’s Historic Preservation Program is relocating its master’s degree program from the Eugene campus to the UO in Portland beginning fall term 2016. The UO’s Historic Preservation Program, in its 35th year, is widely recognized as one of the premiere preservation programs in the country. Only two other graduate degree preservation programs are located in the West.

White Stag Block